Bipolar Support Forums To Share and Support One Another

Loss of Friendships

Have you been a victim? Or have you contributed to your own stigma?

by Ilana » Tue Jun 06, 2017 8:43 pm

Hello BPS friends,

I'm not sure if this is the right spot to post this but I feel this situation has links to stigma. If there is a better spot please let me know, I'm a newbie.

I recently had an episode that destroyed a friendship with a couple that I had valued for the past 12 years or so. In a wild mania that was fueled even higher with marijuana and alcohol abuse, I called the police on my male friend citing possible domestic abuse. In the moment I was convinced that my female friend was in danger and I had to do something about it. Nothing happened with the police because well... nothing was happening. Despite my efforts to apologize, they have cut the ties forever. They have known of my condition for the length of our friendship but I have never gone as high as I did in this last episode (it began in December and lasted until April.) In response to my apology, the male friend wrote me an email letter calling me fu*&ing crazy, disgusting and said the last 12 years have been a drain on them. It was harsh. After the mania subsided I went to the police and retracted the incident but they are adamant about not being friends with me. Upon reflection, I realize I don't want to be friends with someone who thinks so little of me, however, this situation has rocked me nonetheless and I'm having a difficult time finding my self-esteem and confidence again. The loss of the relationship and the words in his letter loom in the corners of my mind always ready to meet me. I am stepping into the acceptance phase but it is tough.

Has anyone here ever experienced the loss of a friendship(s) because of a manic episode? How did you deal/heal from it?

Thank you for reading. It is helpful to share.

Ilana
Ilana

by AvantGarde » Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:23 pm