Bipolar Support Forums To Share and Support One Another

New to recovery and afraid of feeling good.

Ask questions! Share your worries and fears.

by WndrMgzLnd » Tue Sep 05, 2017 8:43 am

I am new to recovery, I have never really accepted my diagnoses before...ever. I was diagnosed as being manic depressive when I was a preteen and refused to continue therapy I became very self destructive and caused myself a lot of problems, I am now officially diagnosed as Bi polar type 2 rapid cycling with PTSD.... this has literally been the hardest and most rewarding, scariest and most humbling experience of my life... Choosing recovery has been a major step for me and I am proud of myself for it but am finding it difficult to figure out what is me and what is my mental illness, I am not sure if anyone else has ever felt this way but because I am rapid cycling I am actually afraid of feeling genuinely happy... every time I have a good day I am scared its the start of a cycle and this is probably making me cycle more often, the being afraid I mean...has anyone ever dealt with this ? any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
" You must do the thing you think you cannot do" - Eleanor Roosevelt
WndrMgzLnd

by AvantGarde » Tue Sep 05, 2017 8:50 am

Hi :)

So, not to burst your bubble or anything. But recovery means very different things for any mental illness. Means one thing or two things for schizophrenia, other stuff for PTSD, other stuff for DID, etc.

We don't really like the word recovery for BP around here, to be honest. It implies a cure, and there is no cure. There's stability. And that's not exactly recovery, but more like hard work in therapy and sheer luck with meds.

I work for recovery from my trauma, but don't work for recovery for BP for example. I'm aware trauma is treatable, but BP is episodical. So if I work really hard towards recovery for BP and have a manic episode out of the blue, it seems like all the work I did in the past will just go into oblivion.