Bipolar Support Forums To Share and Support One Another

I can't do it

School and Bipolar Disorder? How do you do it? Please share your experiences, your victories, and even your disappointmens. We understand how hard it must be from high school to college to grad school. Hope you can share with us and find the support you need.

by Snowflake » Thu Mar 16, 2017 4:06 pm

I am a sophomore in college and just got diagnosed with Bipolar 2 about two months ago. I've been struggling with it quite a bit and not sure where to turn. I am also dyslexic and have a hard enough time with school, let alone emotional issues. I am so far failing a class I need to graduate and don't know if I should drop out. Being here has made me stress so much more than at home. It's been a long and painful time so far and I hate it. I hate what being here dose to me. But I don't want to quit, I don't want to give up because it's hard. When does pride become harmful? Should I try and make this whole college thing work and risk doing what I've been doing (harmful things) or give up and let this get the better of me?

I'm so confused and lost and no one seems to understand. I just don't know what to do anymore.
"I'm not crazy, I'm just a little un-well. I know, right now you can't tell. But stay a while and maybe then you'll see, a different side of me."
Snowflake

by Jemane » Thu Mar 16, 2017 5:21 pm

Hi snowflake,
Sounds like a tough situation for you.
Do you have a tdoc (therapist) you can talk these things over with? Sounds like a difficult decision.
I don't think pushing on the face of adversity is always a bad thing. I had to push through my uni degree with a baby and being in a cult that told me I had to quit but I somehow pushed through and did it anyway.
If it's affecting your mental health you need a good therapist and a good doctor to stabilise you on medication.
Is it possible to delay that subject until next semester or something like that?