Bipolar Support Forums To Share and Support One Another

New here and pondering...

Welcome to Bipolar Support.Org!
Please make yourself at home!

by Stardust » Wed Sep 06, 2017 8:49 pm

Hey guys,
I'm somewhat new to the bipolar community, I was diagnosed bipolar 2 a year 1/2 ago after taking prozac for depression and going into a full blown manic episode that had me running from the police with a knife and 51/50'd in the psych ward. I'm 37, mother of two, been married for 16 years and considered pretty stable and normal until my mental break. It took me almost a year to regain most of my sanity, really is anyone "normal" lol but for me loosing my mind was the scariest feeling especially when I had a young child to care for that didn't understand. Luckily I have supportive family around that helped me through it. I feel good most of the time and I'm sleeping, something I will never take for granted again. I'm currently taking 600 mg Lithium twice daily and Zyprexa 1.25 mg each night (yep that baby dose does the job for my sensitive system). None of my friends relate to the bipolar thing and sometimes I feel like it's just me battling this inner demon. On meds, I feel mostly balanced but extra foggy at times and I'll get mild bursts of mania that make me hyper or aggresive. I wish I had a good sense of humor so I could just make a joke and laugh about it but it's not in my nature. So here I am, looking for support from whoever might be reading this. Any advise from others who have found useful ways of managing the spontaneous ups and downs of this disease?
She always had that about her, that look of otherness, of eyes that see things much too far, and of thoughts that wander off the edge of the world.
Stardust

by Pancake » Wed Sep 06, 2017 9:53 pm

Well I guess they got the diagnosis right eventually :roll:

Welcome Stardust. Do you see a therapist? That has been really good for me in terms of recognising moods, thoughts etc.