Bipolar Support Forums To Share and Support One Another

Hi there. My name is James.

Welcome to Bipolar Support.Org!
Please make yourself at home!

by james1992 » Mon Aug 21, 2017 4:45 pm

Hi there. My name is James. I'm soon to begin training to be a software developer at an insurance company in my hometown. I have a Bachelor's degree in Computer Science that I finished a year ago, and I had been working as a help desk associate from then until now.

The main reason I sought out a support forum is that despite my weekly therapy sessions, a mixture of medications, and support from my family, I still feel misunderstood most of the time. I'm also fairly socially isolated at this point of my life, so I was hoping to reach out to other people I could talk to who actually have bipolar disorder like me. I'm not certain how regularly I'll be visiting these forums, but I wanted to at least give it a try.

My bipolar disorder started with more mild symptoms of depression in high school that escalated once I entered college. The first year away from home took a toll on me, and I was hospitalized at the end of that summer for a week until trying to go back for my second year. After that, it was a constant battle to finish my degree in a highly rigorous program, during which time I isolated myself from other students to the point where I had to take two medical leaves of school and it took me six years to finish a four-year program.

My stress level has gone way down since leaving school last year, taking a relatively easy job and staying at home with family. I've finally found myself some stability, but my mind still feels incredibly worn out and I don't know what else I can do to try to change my life from surviving and getting by to thriving and enjoying a life of relative happiness.