Bipolar Support Forums To Share and Support One Another

Feeling discouraged

A place for Moms, Dads, and Parents-to-be.

by Tigger » Thu Apr 06, 2017 8:59 am

Last night I went to a transition meeting for all 5th grade students who are going to 6th grade (middle school) next year. This is my third time sending a child off to middle school. But, it's my first time sending a child with a profound disability.

A little over a year ago he was a normal, albeit ADHD dx, kid. Now he's missed about half of the past year of school. I sat there listening too all of the great things the middle school offers to incoming students and realized, there is just no way my kid is going to be able to handle going to a regular school. His mood disorder keeps him from being able to show up most days, and the ADHD is presently untreated because the medication is destabilizing so he can't even read a book for more than 1 - 2 minutes.

Today he's home with me because he had another mixed state episode--which is the most heartbreaking thing to watch an 11 year old kid go through. Holding his head and crying because it hurts so much. Stomping around and screaming to try to alleviate the agitation. Begging me to help him feel better. Besides holding him--when he could bear that--I gave him risperidone. That was all I could do.

What's his life going to be like if he can't show up for it?
_______

Mom to 12 year old boy with bipolar

Meds: 300mg Lamictal; 300mg Lithium; 10mg Abilify; .50mg Risperdal
Tigger

by AvantGarde » Thu Apr 06, 2017 9:39 am

I flunked two years in a row, both the 8th grade. First for agoraphobia and the second when my BP symptoms started. It was not a big deal, I learned how to live with my unstable self and thrived through. And I didn't have medication!
I'm sure if it takes a while it won't be a big deal, the most important thing is that he feels comfortable in his own skin.